What comes next?

It has been a very long time since I’ve written any posts for this blog. I’ve been working full-time as a mental health counselor for the last two and a half years, and I’ve been using my free time to prioritize family life over creative projects. I’m not exactly sure what is motivating me to write this post. I used to always have a lot to say, mostly because I was a compulsive consumer of self-help literature for most of my twenties. Perhaps the reason I’m back on the blog is to see if, by pounding away at my keyboard, I discover whether or not I still have something to say outside of my personal and professional settings.

I  have been feeling a slight internal pressure to further develop my ability to help and influence others, and thereby also continue my growth as a human being. I’m occupying a strange and vulnerable place – knowing I want need to grow, and not knowing which direction to take. Allowing space for uncertainty and accepting the reality of risk is something I encourage my therapy clients to practice on a daily basis, so I’m not surprised to see that this move into vulnerability (and the aversion that comes with it) is a struggle for me as well.

There’s an inner voice that says, “Jackson, this is the most boring, unhelpful blog post ever written.” There may be some truth to that. However, I also know from experience that judgments hardly ever reflect a full picture of reality. Clinging to harsh evaluations rarely leads to anything helpful. Buying into negative judgments tends to move me out of vulnerability and into shame – the deeply felt belief that I’m not good enough to do this, that I have no right to want this, and that I should probably just fall in line and settle for what I know I deserve.

When I started writing this, I was not clear about the intention. The good news is that I seem to have found a reason through the writing process. This seemingly insignificant piece of writing is a clear rejection of the status quo of fitting in. It is a way to practice once again stepping into a life stance where my ideas are exposed and open to scrutiny. Whether or not I will be brave enough to continue this exploration is yet undetermined. I guess the record will speak for itself.

Here’s to the rejection of fear and the willingness to grow, despite the uncertainty of success and the risk of commitment.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Development, Psychology, Reflections

Leave a Reply

