Doing Makes You Better

I remember reading a psychology textbook in college that described an experiment where one group of participants was asked to spend a period of time (several days or weeks, I think) trying to make one really great vase. Another group of participants was asked to produce as many vases as possible during the same period of time. At the end of the study, the vase made by the one-really-great-vase team was compared to one of the late state production vases of the other team, to determine which one was objectively better. The study found that the group who spent their time producing as many vases as possible produced a better quality vase than the other team.

This makes sense, doesn’t it? Imagine you wanted to be able to shoot the perfect free throw. It seems like common sense that your time would be better spent shooting as many free throws and possible, rather than theorizing the perfect approach and then giving it one try. “Practice makes perfect,” as they say. (Though, I’d think it’s more accurate to say practice makes proficient, but nit picking is unattractive, so…)

I promise I’ll get to my point…

In my last post, I shared that I haven’t posted to this blog in a long time, and that I wasn’t sure I really had anything important to say anymore. This morning, the thought crossed my mind, “Maybe you should write another post today.” My mind didn’t think of an interesting topic within a split second, and then that familiar sense of aversion arose. “You have nothing to say. No one will find it interesting unless it’s awesome, so you better plan something first.” So, instead of writing, I went straight to reading a popular self-improvement blog I used to read frequently. And while I was reading it, I recognized – again – that I was avoiding the very action that will lead to me being a better writer; the process that will allow me to actually have something important to say. And then I remembered the damn vase study…

Now here I am, again, producing another vase. It isn’t anywhere near perfect, but it’s a damn good start.

I’m finding that motivation is a lot like the classical virtues – courage, benevolence, loyalty, honesty, etc. The thing about the classical virtues is that the only way to develop them is to do them. To develop honesty, tell the truth. To develop courage, do something courageous. Motivation is no different. To develop motivation, do the thing for which you desire to develop motivation. To do otherwise (as my realtor friends use to say) is just “getting ready to get ready.”

On this very day, I encourage anyone who read this to do as I have done. If you are avoiding something because you’re afraid of not doing it perfect, or because you fear rejection, or you’re afraid to look stupid – do it anyway. If what you fear is failure, than you must practice, or you perpetually will fail by default (and I’m pretty sure that condition is fertile ground for depression and worry, which we could all do without).

 

P.S. If you hate this post, post a comment and tell me why. As I’ve heard Tim Ferris put it, failure is feedback.

2 Comments

Filed under Personal Development, Psychology, Reflections

2 responses to “Doing Makes You Better

  1. I love this post. This insight is required (in my opinion). After 15 years as a fine art painter in the studio, 20 years in decorating sets for TV shows and 30 years practicing zen meditation, it is the way to grow & flourish in any given activity. Keeping a gentle supporting mind in the process. No critiques allowed during the process!! Another reason the multiple vase makers ultimately made a better vase.
    Thanks for posting.

    • Jackson

      Thanks for the feedback, Tim. And yeah, it does seem that the “make as many as possible” experiment was a way to short circuit the overly-critical mind, thus freeing up the process to develop skills more quickly and proficiently. I’m always interested in finding ways to generalize that kind of approach to other contexts; e.g. bringing a nonjudgmental mind to tasks besides “make as many as possible.” I think we have both experienced this.
      Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

