Affirmations: More Than Ego-stroking

This week I started doing an adapted version of the Five Minute Journal, which has been around for quite some time. (A Google search will quickly provide lots of templates you can use.) The one I’m using includes a few blank lines on which it asks me to write down daily affirmations, starting with “I am…” I’ve always found affirmations a bit cheesy, bringing to mind those SNL sketches with the Stewart Smalley character…

Stuart_Smalley

“I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and doggone it, people like me.”

I’ve also always thought self affirmations have a narcissistic flavor to them, given the focus on talking up one’s qualities in a way that can lead to pathological over-inflation. “I am the best, strongest, most beautiful being in all the cosmos!”… or something like that. They are perhaps one of the most recognizable parts of the self-esteem movement that has produced paradoxical and unfortunate results. It turns out that if you tell someone they are special, without their having demonstrated mastery of any particular skill or quality, it can lead to confusion, depression, and in some cases a reduced willingness to practice difficult tasks (for fear of not performing well and losing the artificially high status imputed up on them). That is generally what comes to mind when I see the word “affirmations.”

At the same time, I appreciate a good challenge, and I value psychological and behavioral flexibility very highly. I’m willing to try new things to see if I can get results that are outside my expectations. So I did the damn affirmations for the last two days. Fortunately for me, my partner, and my children, it didn’t turn me into a narcissistic jerk (yet).

This morning, after writing in my Five Minute Journal (which included affirmations), I sent a text to my soon-to-be-wife. I planned for it to be the usual, “Good morning, I love you, have a good day,” sort of text, and those thoughts were included. However, I found that I was softly compelled to write affirmations to her as well. I reminded her she is capable, skillful, and worthy of the time and space she needs to learn her new job (among other things). Not that this is totally out of the ordinary, as I tend to be a pretty supportive and affirming person in general. Though, it occurred to me that practicing affirmations may not just be about pumping up one’s self esteem. It also makes it feel more natural and effortless to provide the same kind of love and support to others, which is the opposite of self-centered egotism.

Upon further reflection, this doesn’t surprise me at all. There is evidence to suggest that the more one is able to label, share, and accept their emotions, the better they are at recognizing and caring for the feelings of others. Likewise, self-compassion tends to lead toward greater compassion for others. In other words, it is difficult to see in someone else something one is unable to see in themselves.

Take the time to remind yourself of your accomplishments, your strengths, and your values. See if it helps you see the same in others. I think you’ll find, like I have, that it will be a wise use of five minutes each day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Development, Psychology, Reflections

Leave a Reply

